International Prize for Restorative Justice

The Centre for Justice & Reconciliation established the International Prize for Restorative Justice in 2003 to honor those who have been substantially responsible for significant advances in the use of restorative justice around the world. The significance of the advances may be demonstrated in terms of scale, innovation, or other ways of measuring societal impact. 

  1. The focus is on implementation of the advances, although conceptual, design, promotional or other work preceding or following implementation may be considered in awarding the prize. 
  2. The criterion of substantial responsibility acknowledges that most achievements in restorative justice are the result of activity by many people.  The recipient, however, will have played a uniquely significant role within the joint effort. 

The $5,000 Prize is awarded by the Centre for Justice and Reconciliation on an occasional basis.

Past Recipients:

Howard Zehr

Kim Workman and Jackie Katounas

Peace Foundation Melanesia Bougainville Project

David Daubney