Back to RJ Archive

The Four Justice Models: Organised Creativity in Judicial Administration

Tin Keng Seng, Eric
June 4, 2015

Source: (1999) Winner Paper of the 1999 Justice Achievement Award Honourable Mention. eJustice. Subordinate Courts of Singapore.

The Justice Achievement Award was established to recognize outstanding achievements and projects that enhance the administration of justice. In this paper, Eric Tin Keng Seng, a magistrate for the Republic Singapore, profiles four justice models that provide the structure for the Singapore courts: civil justice (fair and effective dispute resolution); criminal justice (protecting the public); family justice (protecting family obligations); and juvenile justice (restorative justice). For each model, he identifies the target groups, the core work team, and significant justice initiatives. Moreover, he evaluates the effects of the justice initiatives on the Singapore community.


AbstractAsiaJuvenileRJ in SchoolsRJ Office
Support the cause

We've Been Restoring Justice for More Than 40 Years

Your donation helps Prison Fellowship International repair the harm caused by crime by emphasizing accountability, forgiveness, and making amends for prisoners and those affected by their actions. When victims, offenders, and community members meet to decide how to do that, the results are transformational.

Donate Now